News & Events


April 23, 2019

Karina Walters is 2019 Adelphi SSW Lodge Prize Awardee

April 3, 2019

From:  Andrew W. Safyer, PhD, LCSW-R

Dean and Professor

Adelphi University School of Social Work

Garden City, New York


It is my great pleasure to announce that Dr. Katina Walters has been selected to receive the 2019 Richard Lodge Prize from Adelphi University School of Social Work.

Photo: Karina L. Walters, PhDKarina L. Walters, an enrolled member of the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma, is the Associate Dean for Research, the Katherine Hall Chambers Scholar at the University of Washington (UW). Dr. Walters is the Director and Principal Investigator of the Indigenous Wellness Research Institute at UW, one of 16 National Institute of Minority Health and Health Disparities Comprehensive Centers of Excellence and one of two devoted to American Indian and Alaska Native (AIAN) research in the country. Currently, she is active in NIDA’s American Indian Scientific Committee and is Chair of the NIH’s Intervention Research to Improve Native American Health (IRINAH) Committee.

Dr. Walters received her B.A. (sociology) in 1987, her M.S.W. (clinical) in 1990, and her Ph.D. in 1995 all from the University of California, Los Angeles. After serving on faculty as an Assistant and Associate Professor at Columbia University School of Social Work (1995‐2001), she joined the University of Washington faculty in 2001 and became Full Professor in 2011. She has served as Director of the Doctoral Program (2003‐05) and as Associate Dean for Research (since 2012).

Named for the late Dr. Richard Lodge, a leading social work educator and Adelphi University professor, the prize honors social work educators for their outstanding contributions to the profession through the development of social work theory and practice.

The Lodge Prize will be awarded at the School’s annual Alumni and Friends Event, on Friday, May 3, 2019 where Dr. Walters will deliver the keynote address entitled:

Holhpokunna hatak chanspo il okchanyachi: Transcending Historical Trauma and Living the Dreams the Ancient Ones Dreamed for Us

Past recipients of the Richard Lodge Prize include:

Dr. Larry Davis, Univeristy of Pittsburgh (2017)

Dr. Michael Sherraden, Washington University (2015)
Dr. Lorraine Gutierrez, University of Michigan (2013)
Dr. Susan Kemp, University of Washington (2011)
Dr. Sarah Gehlert, Washington University in St. Louis (2009)
Dr. Marsha Mailick Seltzer, University of Wisconsin-Madison (2006)
Dr. Sharon Berlin, University of Chicago (2002)
Dr. Lawrence Shulman, SUNY at Buffalo School of Social Work (1999)
Dr. Dennis Saleebey and Dr. Ann Weick, University of Kansas (1995)
Dr. Hans S. Falck, Professor, Virginia Commonwealth University (1993)
Dr. Howard Goldstein, Case Western Reserve University (1991)