Advisory Members // IHART 2

IHART2 - Scientific Community Leadership Council

The IHART2 Scientific and Community Leadership Council (SCLC) guides the scientific and cultural curriculum, sets an intellectual standard, and creates a reciprocal learning culture for the Lauhoe program. Members of the SCLC meet twice per year (once in person and once via teleconference) to review the overall Lauhoe program, not only in relation to scientific and training activities, but also in relation to advancing knowledge that is culturally relevant and accessible to communities, public policy makers and governmental officials. The SCLC also makes recommendations to the Administrative Core regarding program activities.

Julie Baldwin, PhD

Regents' Professor, Department of Health Sciences, Northern Arizona University

Director, Center for Health Equity Research (CHER), Northern Arizona University

Geri Donenberg, PhD

Professor of Medicine and Psychology, University of Illinois at Chicago

Co-Vice Chair of Research, Department of Medicine, University of Illinois at Chicago

Director, Center for Dissemination and Implementation Science and the Healthy Youths Program, Department of Medicine, University of Illinois at Chicago

Michelle Johnson-Jennings, PhD (Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma)

Co-director, Indigenous Wellness Research Institute

Professor, University of Washington School of Social Work

Director, Environmentally based Health & Land-based Healing, IWRI

J. Keawe’aimoku Kaholokula, PhD

Associate Professor and Chair of Native Hawaiian Health, John A. Burns School of Medicine, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa

Lana Kaʻopua, PhD

Associate Professor , Myron B. Thompson School of Social Work University of Hawaii at Manoa

Carol Kaufman, PhD

Associate Professor, Community & Behavioral Health, Centers for American Indian and Alaska Native Health, Colorado School of Public Health, University of Colorado Denver

Spero Manson, PhD (Pembina Chippewa)

Distinguished Professor, Community and Behavioral Health, University of Colorado Denver

Director, Centers for American Indian and Alaska Native Health Colorado School of Public Health University of Colorado Denver

Renee Masching, MSW (First Nations Canada)

Director of Research & Policy, Canadian Aboriginal AIDS Network

Tooru Nemoto, PhD

Research Program Director , Public Health Institute

Steven Safren, PhD

Professor, Department of Psychology University of Miami

Jane Simoni, PhD

Director, NIH, Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research

David Takeuchi, PhD

Professor and Dorothy Book Scholar, School of Social Work Boston College

Irene Vernon, PhD (Mescalero Apache/Yaqui/Mexicana descent)

Professor and Chair, Department of Ethnic Studies (retired), Colorado State University

Frank Wong, PhD

Associate Professor, Behavioral Sciences/Health Education Rollins School of Public Health, Emory University

IHART2- Native Community Advisory Expert Panel

Members of the IHART2 Native Community Advisory Expert Panel (NCAEP) review the overall Lauhoe curriculum in relation to advancing knowledge that is culturally relevant and accessible to communities and tribes. The NCAEP makes recommendations regarding the program’s cultural mentorship activities and training curricula and ensures that the Lauhoe program remains responsive to pressing Native community needs. The NCAEP provides cultural leadership, mentorship, and guidance on the research training curriculum and Lauhoe cultural mentorship protocols; identifies tribally and community-based topics for research in partnership with tribes and Native communities; provides feedback on developing tribally-based research protocols for inclusion in IHART2 trainings; and provides general feedback on Lauhoe protocols and procedures. Additionally, when desired, they may provide cultural mentorship or consultation to trainees.

Tom Ball, PhD (Modoc/Klamath)

Research Coordinator, Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation

Stephanie Craig Rushing

Director, Project Red Talon Northwest Portland Area Indian Health Board (NPAIHB)

Fransing Daisy, PhD (Cree)

Coordinator, American Indian/Alaska Native Programs Northwest AIDS Education and Training Center

Sharon Day (Boise Fort Ojibwe)

Executive Director , Indigenous Peoples Task Force (IPTF)

Tiny Devlin (Athabascan)

Elder and HIV/AIDS Educator , (retired)

Melvin Harrison (Navajo/Dine)

Founder and Executive Director, Navajo AIDS Network

Ashliana Hawelu-Fulgoni

Co-founder and Executive Director, Kulia Na Mamo

Hamen Ides, (Lummi)

Founder and Executive Director, Ti-Chee Native AIDS Prevention

Cathy Kiana Keiko Kapua

HIV Prevention Specialist, Life Foundation

Sarah Kastelic (Alutiiq)

Chief of Staff, National Indian Child Welfare Association

Elton Naswood (Navajo/Diné)

Project Coordinator, Red Circle Project, AIDS Project Los Angeles

Member, Community Advisory Council for the National Native American AIDS Prevention Center

Harlan Pruden (First Nations Cree)

Managing Editor,

Antony Stately, PhD (Ojibwe/Oneida)

CEO, Native American Community Clinic

Lisa Tiger (Muscogee Nation)

Activist and Native leader in AIDS education,

Patsy Whitefoot, MA (Yakama/Diné)

Palatisha Miyanashma Indian Education, Toppenish School District Toppenish, Washington