Advisory Members // Itzá: Indigenous HIV/AIDS Research Training 3 (IHART3) Program

Itza - Scientific Community Leadership Council

The Itzá (IHART3) Scientific and Community Leadership Council (SCLC) guides the scientific and cultural curriculum, sets an intellectual standard, and creates a reciprocal learning culture for the Lauhoe program. Members of the SCLC meet twice per year (once in person and once via teleconference) to review the overall Itzá program, not only in relation to scientific and training activities, but also in relation to advancing knowledge that is culturally relevant and accessible to communities, public policy makers and governmental officials. The SCLC also makes recommendations to the Administrative Core regarding program activities.

Julie Baldwin, PhD

Regents' Professor, Department of Health Sciences, Northern Arizona University

Director, Center for Health Equity Research (CHER), Northern Arizona University

Ramona Beltrán, PhD, MSW (Chicana, Indigenous Mexican descent)

Associate Professor, Graduate School of Social Work, University of Denver

Geri Donenberg, PhD

Professor of Medicine and Psychology, University of Illinois at Chicago

Co-Vice Chair of Research, Department of Medicine, University of Illinois at Chicago

Director, Center for Dissemination and Implementation Science and the Healthy Youths Program, Department of Medicine, University of Illinois at Chicago

Hamen Ides, (Lummi)

Founder and Executive Director, Ti-Chee Native AIDS Prevention

Michelle Johnson-Jennings, PhD (Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma)

Executive Co-director, Indigenous Wellness Research Institute

Professor, University of Washington School of Social Work

Director, Environmentally based Health & Land-based Healing, IWRI

Joseph Keawe’aimoku Kaholokula, PhD

Associate Professor and Chair of Native Hawaiian Health, John A. Burns School of Medicine at the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa

Lana Kaʻopua, PhD

Associate Professor , Myron B. Thompson School of Social Work University of Hawaii at Manoa

Tooru Nemoto, PhD

Research Program Director , Public Health Institute

Melissa L. Walls PhD (Bois Forte and Couchiching First Nations Anishinabe)

Director, Great Lakes Hub for the Johns Hopkins Center for American Indian Health

Associate Professor, International Health, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.

Frank Wong, PhD

Associate Professor, Behavioral Sciences/Health Education Rollins School of Public Health, Emory University

Itza - Scientific Mentor Network

The Scientific Mentor Network mentors are on stand-by to be matched as mentors to IHART3-Itza Fellows and to participate in the summer institute on an as-needed basis. The six SMN mentors listed here are experienced, biomedical, behavioral, and social scientists with expertise in health and/or health disparities and who have extensive mentorship or leadership experience in Indigenous communities.

Tommi Gaines, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Infectious Disease and Global Public Health, University of California San Diego

Carol Kaufman, PhD

Associate Professor, Community & Behavioral Health, Centers for American Indian and Alaska Native Health, Colorado School of Public Health, University of Colorado Denver

Renee Masching, MSW (First Nations Canada)

Director of Research & Policy, Canadian Aboriginal AIDS Network

Steven Safren, PhD

Professor, Department of Psychology University of Miami

Itza- Native Community Advisory Expert Panel

Members of the Itzá (IHART3) Native Community Advisory Expert Panel (NCAEP) review the overall Lauhoe curriculum in relation to advancing knowledge that is culturally relevant and accessible to communities and tribes. The NCAEP makes recommendations regarding the program’s cultural mentorship activities and training curricula and ensures that the Itzá program remains responsive to pressing Native community needs. The NCAEP provides cultural leadership, mentorship, and guidance on the research training curriculum and Itzá cultural mentorship protocols; identifies tribally and community-based topics for research in partnership with tribes and Native communities; provides feedback on developing tribally-based research protocols for inclusion in Itzá trainings, and provides general feedback on Itzá protocols and procedures. Additionally, when desired, they may provide cultural mentorship or consultation to trainees.

Fransing Daisy, PhD (Cree)

Coordinator, American Indian/Alaska Native Programs Northwest AIDS Education and Training Center

Sharon Day (Boise Fort Ojibwe)

Executive Director , Indigenous Peoples Task Force (IPTF)

Melvin Harrison (Navajo/Dine)

Founder and Executive Director, Navajo AIDS Network

Ashliana Hawelu-Fulgoni

Co-founder and Executive Director, Kulia Na Mamo

Cathy Kiana Keiko Kapua

HIV Prevention Specialist, Life Foundation

Elton Naswood (Navajo/Diné)

Project Coordinator, Red Circle Project, AIDS Project Los Angeles

Member, Community Advisory Council for the National Native American AIDS Prevention Center

Harlan Pruden (First Nations Cree)

Managing Editor,

Antony Stately, PhD (Ojibwe/Oneida)

CEO, Native American Community Clinic

Lisa Tiger (Muscogee Nation)

Activist and Native leader in AIDS education,